Ayariga’s APC, PPP, PNC others disqualified from 2016 polls


Hassan Ayariga

1322  3  0  0  1345

The Electoral Commission has disqualified Hassan Ayariga’s All Progressive Congress (APC), the People’s National Convention (PNC), the Progressive People’s Party (PPP), and other parties from contesting in the December elections.

In all, twelve presidential aspirants have been disqualified.

All the parties were supposed to submit their filing fees by midday today [Monday], after an Accra High court dismissed an injunction suit filed by the Progressive People’s Party (PPP) in protest against the fees.

The other disqualified parties include the Great Consolidated Popular Party (GCPP), the Independent People’s Party (IPP) led by Kofi Akpalu, Democratic People’s Party (DPP), led by Ward Brew, Akua’s Donkor’s Ghana Freedom Party (GFP).

Nana Konadu Agyemang Rawlings’ National Democratic Party (NDP), has been disqualified for the second time.

An Independent Candidate, Alfred Asiedu Kwame Walker, has been disqualified.

The Electoral Commission Chairperson, Charlotte Osei, who made the announcement at a news conference today [Monday], said those disqualified failed to meet the necessary requirements that makes them eligible to contest.

The PPP had argued that, the GHc50, 000 and GHc10, 000 filing fees for both presidential and parliamentary hopefuls was too high.

The Convention People’s Party’s (CPP) participation, which was earlier in limbo after it failed to meet the deadline for the submission of the filing fees, has been cleared to participate.

The CPP thus joins the New Patriotic Party (NPP), the National Democratic Congress,  and Jacob Osei Yeboah, as the only qualified independent presidential candidate.

By: citifmonline.com/Ghana

1322  3  0  0  1345